Tuesday Ticks and Trips

While researching Web sites for my business language course, I found one for “Grammar Girl” Mignon Fogarty (but seriously what is with that name?) and wanted to share.  Grammar Girl does occasional stints on 87.9 NPR and I always enjoy them, so:

http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-girl

It’s not so heavy on information for fiction writing as it is on general grammatical guidelines, but I know for me, that can be just as useful.  For example, I just perused an article under “Most Popular Tips” about the difference between i.e. and e.g.  For the longest time I’ve wondered just what they mean and how to know when to use each one appropriately.  The article breaks it down to something simple to remember:

I.e. = “In other words”
E.g. = “For Example”

The site speaks to me because I appreciate grammatical correctness in my own work and others, not only in fictional reading but also in everyday messages.  If it’s something you also like but maybe have questions on, check it out!

About bethsmash

What put the smoosh in bethsmash? Was it drugs? Nope. Was it a coincidental combination of non-toxic-but-still-life-altering chemicals being mixed in giant, uncovered vats conveniently placed under a rickety walkway? Maybe. Was it a childhood of stolen glimpses at too many horrific movies, and borrowed books full of the gory, terrifying material that would lead to adolescent years full of sleepless nights? You betcha.
This entry was posted in Tips and Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

